You are here

Chancellor Gary S. May

Gary S. May became UC Davis’ seventh chancellor on Aug. 1, 2017, overseeing all aspects of the university’s teaching, research and public service mission.

He looks forward to boldly leading the university to new heights in academic excellence, public service, diversity and upward mobility for students from all backgrounds.

An electrical engineer, computer science expert and proud UC alumnus (UC Berkeley ’88 and ’91), Chancellor May has developed and led national programs to attract, mentor and retain underrepresented women and ethnic minorities in STEM — the fields of science, technology, engineering and math.  

The chancellor champions mentoring and diversity in both higher education and the workplace. He enjoys helping others succeed, believing that success is best judged by “the extent you enhance the lives of others.”

Learn more about the chancellor

  • Read his biography
  • Visit his website
  • Follow him on Twitter and Instagram

Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor Ralph J. Hexter

Provost Ralph Hexter
Ralph Hexter

Classics scholar and long-time university administrator Ralph J. Hexter helps lead UC Davis as its chief academic and operating officer. Under Chancellor Gary May’s direction, he is responsible for the campus’s academic and organizational functioning and its excellence in education, research and public service. In April 2016, he was appointed acting chancellor, and from September 2016 through July 2017 he served as interim chancellor. On Aug. 1, 2017, he returned to his post as provost and executive vice chancellor.

Hexter arrived at UC Davis on Jan. 1, 2011, to become provost and executive vice chancellor from Hampshire College in Amherst, Massachusetts, where he was president. Prior to that, he was executive dean of the College of Letters and Science and dean of Arts and Humanities at UC Berkeley.

Throughout his career, Hexter has made it a priority to foster excellence across the full range of disciplines and professions, and to promote equal opportunity, diversity, and inclusion for students, faculty, and staff. He was a founding member of LGBTQ Presidents in Higher Education.

Along with his administrative role, Hexter holds an appointment as distinguished professor of classics and comparative literature. In this capacity, he continues to teach, research, and publish on the interpretation and meaning of classical Greek and Roman literature from antiquity through the Middle Ages to modern times, as well as other topics. In 2016, Hexter was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Vice Chancellors

  • Development and Test Relations: Vice Chancellor Shaun Keister
  • Vice Chancellor of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion: Vice Chancellor Renetta Garrison Tull

  • Finance, Operations and Administration: Vice Chancellor Kelly Ratliff
  • Human Health Sciences: Vice Chancellor David Lubarsky
  • Research: Vice Chancellor Prasant Mohapatra
  • Student Affairs: Interim Vice Chancellor Emily C. Galindo


  • Agricultural and Environmental Sciences: Dean Helene Dillard
  • Betty Irene Moore School of Nursing: Dean Stephen Cavanagh
  • Biological Sciences: Dean Mark Winey
  • Education: Dean Lauren Lindstrom
  • Engineering: Dean Jennifer Sinclair Curtis
  • Graduate School of Management: Dean Rao Unnava
  • Graduate Studies: Vice Provost and Dean Jean-Pierre Delplanque
  • Law: Dean Kevin Johnson
  • Letters and Science: Dean Elizabeth Spiller 
  • Medicine: Dean Allison Brashear
  • UC Davis Continuing and Professional Education: Dean Susan Catron
  • Undergraduate Education: Vice Provost and Dean Carolyn Thomas
  • Veterinary Medicine: Dean Michael D. Lairmore

Vice Provosts and Associate Chancellors

  • Academic Affairs: Vice Provost Phil Kass
  • Chancellor's Office: Associate Chancellor Karl Engelbach
  • Global Affairs: Vice Provost and Associate Chancellor Joanna Regulska
  • Graduate Education: Vice Provost and Dean Jean-Pierre Delplanque
  • Information and Educational Technology: Vice Provost Viji Murali
  • Library: University Librarian MacKenzie Smith
  • Medical Center: Interim Chief Executive Officer Brad Simmons
  • Undergraduate Education: Vice Provost and Dean Carolyn Thomas